Society of Physics Students (SPS)

Patrick Herron and Jordan Miller attending student welcome event
The Society of Physics Students is organized by the students, under the supervision of Dr. Kiril Streletzky. SPS organizes seminars, the annual catapult contest, ice cream parties with liquid nitrogen, outreach to schools around CSU, and many more activities.

The CSU-SPS Chapter is nationally recognized with: 14 consecutive Outstanding SPS Chapter Awards (2009-2023); 12 Marsh White Outreach Awards (2011-2019, 2021-2023); two (2012, 2015) Blake Lilly Awards; three (2016, 2019, 2022) SPS Chapter Reporter Awards; 2016-2017 SPS Chapter Research Award; 2013-2014 Future Faces of Physics Award; 2017-2018 Sigma Pi Sigma Chapter Project Award; 2015 SPS Outstanding Chapter Advisor Award (Streletzky); two 2019 SPS Leadership Scholarships (Tietjen, Adamczyk), a 2022 Peggie Dixon Two-Year Award (Herron), three student Reporter awards, 2021 Food for Hungry Physics and Astronomy Students, and more than 43 SPS Travel Awards since 2007.

Learn about some of our student SPS leaders from past and present here (Marie BlatnikJacob AdamczykSamantha Tietjen, Andrew Scherer) and read articles about SPS involvement by CSU's SPS leaders written mostly by CSU students:

Officers of the CSU-SPS Chapter (left to right):  George Tomaras (past SPS vice president), Collin Douglas (SPS treasurer), Jeremiah Greene (SPS Secretary), Jordan Miller (SPS vice president), Patrick Herron (SPS president), Jacob Forester (SPS Historian)Officers of the CSU-SPS Chapter (left to right):  George Tomaras (past SPS vice president), Collin Douglas (SPS treasurer), Jeremiah Greene (SPS Secretary), Jordan Miller (SPS vice president), Patrick Herron (SPS president), Jacob Forester (SPS Historian), Dr. S (SPS Advisor)

For more information, visit: