School of Music

Percussion Ensemble

The CSU Percussion Ensemble (MUS 106/506, Sec. 75) is an elective performance ensemble in the School of Music at Cleveland State University in Cleveland, Ohio. It is dedicated to the thoughtful performance of music for the modern percussion ensemble. Repertoire includes contemporary works, classics of the genre, and transcriptions from all musical periods. The members of the ensemble include graduate and undergraduate percussion majors from all areas of emphasis. (Non-music major membership will be considered by audition only.) Luke Rinderknecht, Applied Faculty in Percussion, directs the CSU Percussion Ensemble. Mr. Rinderkecht performs forms chamber music with No Exit New Music Ensemble, Margaret Brouwer’s Blue Streak Ensemble, Ars Futura, and has appeared with FiveOne Experimental Orchestra and Time Canvas. Since 2010 Mr. Rinderknecht has been on faculty at the Bowdoin International Music Festival, where he coaches chamber music groups, collaborates with composers in the creation of new work, and performs chamber music in the subscription series.


Bob Becker Mudra
Carlos Chavez  Toccata
Elliot Cole Postludes
Zez Confrey Dizzy Fingers
Paul Creston Ceremonial Opus 103
Dennis DeSantis Shifty
Brett William Dietz Sharpened Stick
Tom Gauger Portico
Tom Gauger  Gainsborough
G.H. Green The Hummingbird
Jennifer Higdon Splendid Wood
Paul Lansky Threads
Dan Levitan Conservatory Gardens
Dan Levitan Marimba Quartet
Minoru Miki Marimba Spiritual
Don Miller Five Short Pieces
Mozart/Musser Marriage of Figaro
Rich O’Meara jh Variations
Mitchell Peters A La Nanigo
Dafnis Prieto The Guiros Talk
Steve Reich Drumming
Ney Rosauro Samba
Christopher Rouse Ogoun Badagris
Joe Tompkins Blue Burn