School of Music

Master of Music in Performance

The Performance curriculum develops the essential skills required for a successful career in performance while preparing students for the realities of a competitive world. Our roster of talented and distinguished faculty is drawn from the internationally renowned Cleveland Orchestra and other noted professional instrumental and vocal organizations.  Students have ample opportunities to perform both on and off-campus, learn about the business of music and take electives to prepare them for careers in related fields, ensuring they are both well-trained musicians and experienced performers. At the graduate level the Master of Music in Performance provides an opportunity for further study in preparation for professional performance employment in the classical and jazz areas.

Please view the Graduate Catalog for specific degree requirements and information on the application process.

Apply Now Button Request Info Button

Vocal
Dr. Brian Bailey, Coordinator of Choral and Vocal Studies || (216) 687-2039 || b.k.bailey@csuohio.edu
Keyboard
Dr. Angelin Chang, Coordinator of Keyboard Studies || (216) 687-2036 || a.chang75@csuohio.edu
Instrumental
Prof. Birch Browning || (216) 687-3768 || b.browning@csuohio.edu
String
Dr. Victor Liva, Coordinator of Strings || (216) 687-6931 || v.liva@csuohio.edu
*Percussion
 Luke Rinderknecht || (216) 687-5060 || l.rinderknecht@csuohio.edu
Jazz Studies
Dr. John Perrine || (216) 687-3959 || j.m.perrine@csuohio.edu

Entry Requirements: An audition is required prior to admission for all students intending to earn the Master of Music in performance. In the audition, which should be fifteen minutes or longer, the student must demonstrate performance proficiency with some stylistic breadth. An audiotape or videotape may be provided in lieu of an in-person audition, with prior approval of the head of the appropriate performance area.

*Graduate Percussion Auditions: Please refer to Percussion Homepage for instructions: ../music/auditions-for-percussion