Arts & Sciences JEDI Council


JEDI = Justice, Equity, Diversity, & Inclusion

The A&S JEDI Council will meet twice per year – once during the fall semester and once during the spring semester. Meetings will consist of brief updates. A&S websites, A&S reports, or both could be informed by all A&S JEDI-related initiatives. 

What are the goals of the A&S JEDI Council?
  • Capture all JEDI-related work in A&S
  • Learn strategies and experiences from one another
  • Explore the potential to align projects
  • Share resources
  • Serve as mentors for members of the A&S community interested in starting a new multidisciplinary A&S JEDI Collaborative
What constitutes an A&S JEDI Initiative or Collaborative?
  • Individual faculty and program-level initiatives are happening throughout A&S; continuation of these initiatives, and the development of new initiatives, are encouraged.
    • The chair of each department- and program-level initiative is encouraged to submit a brief annual report to Dean Kersten by May 1st of each year so that A&S can document, highlight, and learn from all such initiatives throughout the college.
  • Distinct from individual or program-level initiatives, A&S “collaboratives” are college-level in that they involve more than one A&S department, consist of multidisciplinary projects (e.g., Inclusive Teaching; D&I in faculty & staff hiring & retention), or both.  
Who are the members of the A&S JEDI Council?
  • A&S – Dean
  • A&S JEDI Collaboratives – Project Lead/Chair of Each Collaborative (see above)
  • All Rise – A Festival of Film and Law – Representative
  • CD-CAVS – Meredith Bond
  • CSU Poetry Center – Hilary Plum
  • Cultural Crossings – Representative
  • Diverse Voices Speaker Series – Representative
  • Faculty Leaders Advancing Gender Equity in STEM (FLAGS) – Mike Horvath
  • Howard A. Mims African American Cultural Center – Coordinator, Prester Pickett
  • Initiative Funded by the Howard Hughes Medical Institute – Representative
  • Louis Stokes Alliance for Minority Participation (LSAMP) – Sara Froehlich
  • The Math Corps Cleveland (Math Corps) – Representative
  • McNair Scholars Program – Director, Ángel Reyes-Rodriguez
  • Operation STEM – Sara Froehlich
  • Women’s and Gender Studies – Patty Stoddard Dare


  • President's Award for Excellence in Diversity: 2014 (COSHP)
  • President's Award for Excellence in Diversity: 2019, 2015, 2014 (CLASS)
  • President’s Diversity Special Award for Collaboration, 2014 (CLASS)