News & Announcements

Three Outstanding Physics Seniors Awarded for 2019-2020 Accomplishments

The Undergraduate Curriculum Committee has decided to award 2019-2020 Outstanding Physics Senior Award to three graduating students: Jacob Adamczyk, Niksa Praljak, and Samantha Tietjen. They have been selected for this award from a record strong class of 14 physics majors - many truly exceptional BA, BS, BS Honors students. The award honors recipients' outstanding academics, significant research achievements presented both at CSU and nationally, and tangible service contributions to the department, SPS, and physics outreach to general public. 

The award includes:

  1. The name of the recipient to be engraved on the Department of Physics Outstanding Physics Senior Plaque for permanent display at the Physics Office.
  2. A personal plaque recording the achievement.
  3. The Feynman Lectures on Physics, boxed set, The New Millennium Edition.

Sincere congratulations to Jacob, Niksa, and Sam!  And good luck in their future endeavors!

I would like to personally thank each of them for their hard work and perseverance in academics, drive and curiosity for research challenges, and selfless commitment to the physics community through SPS, physics teaching on campus, and science/physics outreach on and off campus.

Please see the information below that highlights some of the achievements by Jacob, Niksa, and Sam:

Jacob Adamczyk is graduating from CSU with a BS Physics Honors and a BS Math and as Summa Cum Laude. He did research projects with Dr. Kaufman, Dr. Heus, Dr. Streletzky (as part of CSU’s REU), and Dr. Winkelmann (Neel Institute, Grenoble, France). He presented his research at the OSAPS at Kettering, at the APS March Meeting in Boston, and gave an SPS talk at CSU. He also served as SPS Fabulous Physics question creator, helped with Physics Olympics, and was a sole author of the questions for the Physics Jeopardy in the Spring 2019. He won the 2019 SPS Leadership Fellowship from the American Institute of Physics (AIP).

Niksa Praljak is completing degrees in BS Physics Honors and BS Math Honors and is expected to graduate CSU in Spring 2020 as Summa Cum Laude. He performed research with Dr. Resnick (as part of CSU’s REU), Dr. Ryan, and Dr. Hinczewski (CWRU). Niksa presented his research at the OSAPS at Kettering, at the APS March Meeting in Boston, and to SPS at CSU. His research was published in 2 peer-reviewed journals. Niksa won the prestigious 2019-2020 NSF’s Graduate Research Fellowship Program award. Furthermore, he helped the SPS physics outreach effort at Campus International School and served as the SPS-Math Club liaison, organizing SPS seminars and Physics Olympics. Finally, Niksa was chosen as the Spring 2020 COSHP Valedictorian. After graduation, he will begin his Ph.D. studies in Biophysical Sciences at the University of Chicago.

Samantha Tietjen is graduating from CSU with a BS Honors in Physics as Cum Laude. She did her research with Dr. Fodor and Dr. Streletzky (one year as a part of CSU’s REU). She presented her research at the OSAPS at Toledo, at the two APS March Meetings in Boston and LA, at the PhysCon2020 in Providence, and several times to SPS at CSU. Sam is currently the SPS chapter president and is involved in all SPS activities. She was the leader of the SPS outreach team for 2 years, and led the team to winning two Marsh White Awards from the American Institute of Physics (AIP). Sam won 2019 SPS Leadership Fellowship from AIP. She has also been teaching undergraduate physics labs and has become one of the key TAs for the department. Sam has already been admitted into 4+1 BS/MS Physics program at CSU.

Please join me in congratulating Jacob, Niksa, and Samantha.

-Dr. Kiril Streletzky