English Department

Scholarship Information

At a Glance: Scholarship Information

The Raab-Brennan Endowed Scholarship in Creative Writing

This endowed Scholarship is created through the generosity of Scott Raab and Lisa Brennan to support the MFA in Creative Writing program. Applicants must be currently enrolled CSU graduate students within the MFA in Creative Writing program, be in good academic standing, and show evidence of strong creative or professional potential in the opinion of the faculty. Preference is given to students who have several years of life experience beyond their baccalaureate degree and financial need may be considered. Eligible recipients will be determined by the CSU MFA in Creative writing coordinator in consultation with the Chair of the CSU English Department, the Dean of CLASS, and the office of Financial Aid.  For more information on this scholarship, contact the CSU MFA in Creative Writing coordinator.

Andrews Foundation Research Award

One or more awards to students in the Master of Arts Program in the literature concentration to support the completion of their thesis.  Students who wish to be considered for an award must submit a prospectus for their thesis project with a cover letter announcing their intention to compete for an award. The prospectus should be no longer than five pages and should describe the thesis, offer a rationale for its undertaking, explain how the study relates to current activities in the relevant field, and specify any distinctive features of the project or the resources it will utilize. Students should also submit one letter of recommendation from one of the three readers of their thesis. The prospectus will be read by the Committee on Graduate Studies, who will also review each applicant’s graduate record. Awards will be made on the basis of the probable quality of the completed thesis and on the likelihood of its being completed within a year of the receipt of the Award.  Competition usually announced late February or early March, with awards announced early May.

Leonard Trawick Scholarship in Creative Writing

The Leonard Trawick Scholarship in Creative writing is an award given to a graduate student in creative writing on the basis of artistic and academic merit. Recipient must have exhibited excellence in Creative Writing as determined by the Trawick Award Committee.

History of the Leonard Trawick Scholarship

The Leonard Trawick Scholarship in Creative Writing was created as an endowment from funds contributed by John Gabel, a Cleveland businessman and poet, and Dr. Alberta Turner, Professor Emerita in the English department. Many other faculty, alumni, friends of the University, and poets have contributed funds to this endowment.

Leonard Trawick was Professor in the English department from 1968 to 1998, and as Professor Emeritus is still active in the department as a teacher and editor of poetry. Professor Trawick was a founding member of The Poets' League of Greater Cleveland, and since 1971, as chief editor of the Poetry Center, edited over 120 books of poetry.

Neal Chandler Creative Writing Enhancement Award

Award given to a promising undergraduate student in the Creative Writing Program as determined by the Department faculty, Chair of the English Department and a selection committee.

Plain Dealer Writing Contest

The Plain Dealer Writing Contest is sponsored by the English Department as a way of recognizing good expository writing as an aspect of student achievement. The contest is made possible by an endowment provided by the Cleveland Plain Dealer and gifts from English faculty members. Award entries are submitted by instructors and evaluated by a committee of two English professors. Entries are evaluated each year in March and April, and awards are given at the English department's annual Recognition Reception at the end of April.

History of the Plain Dealer Writing Contest

In Fall quarter, 1982, under the leadership of Professor John Gerlach, several English professors contributed money that would allow the department to award cash prizes for good student essays. The College of Arts and Sciences matched the English professors' contributions, allowing the writing contest to begin with an account of about $750.

Then, in Winter, 1983, the Cleveland Plain Dealer agreed to give the University $10,000 over three years, to create an endowment from which prize money would be awarded for student essays of high quality.

V. Richard Gulbenkian Prize

Prize to honor undergraduate excellence in English. Recipient must have exhibited excellence in English as determined by the faculty and Chair of the English Department.

Donald W. Miller Scholarship

Established to provide scholarships for junior or senior year English majors at Cleveland State University who have demonstrated financial need and academic potential. A faculty and staff committee shall select awardees. The recipient of the Donald W. Miller scholarship will have demonstrated academic achievement, proven financial need, and shown great promise for successfully completing the degree.