School of Music

John M. Perrine

JohnPerrine_web.jpgJohn M. Perrine, DMA

Professor, Saxophone
Coordinator of Jazz Studies

Music & Communication Building, Room 335

John Perrine, Associate Professor, is the Coordinator of Jazz Studies and Director of Jazz Ensembles at Cleveland State University. He has premiered works by Kari Juusela, Aaron Johnson, and William Price. Perrine holds a doctorate from Louisiana State University, a master's from Northwestern University, and a BME from Stetson University. His teachers include James Bishop, Fred Hemke, Jonathon Helton, and Griffin Campbell. He has studied jazz with Harold Blanchard, Don Owens, Tony Garcia, and Michael Koucour.  Recently, Perrine has performed the Bolcom Concert Suite with the Volga Band (Saratov, Russia). Perrine also gave master classes at the Saratov Conservatory and the Rostov On-Don Conservatory, as well as at Moscow State University for Culture and Arts, where he has been invited back to perform the Ingolf Dahl Saxophone Concerto. In addition to working abroad, Perrine recently gave live broadcast recitals with faculty members Eric Ziolek, Rock Wehrmann, and Mark DeMio on WCLV in Cleveland, Ohio. He also performed with his own jazz quartet at Night Town (Cleveland Heights) and The Bop Stop (Cleveland, Ohio.) He is a founding member of the Red Stick Saxophone Quartet. The quartet has won national prizes in the MTNA and Fischoff chamber music competitions. Perrine's composition "Vonnegut: Suite for Saxophone Quartet" was premiered at the North American Saxophone Alliance International Convention in Columbia, South Carolina, by the Red Stick Saxophone Quartet.